Kids Count Data Center (Annie E. Casey Foundation)KIDS COUNT is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a source of data on children and families. Each year, the Foundation produces a comprehensive report — the KIDS COUNT Data Book — that assesses child well-being in the United States. The indicators featured in the Data Book are also available in the Data Center.
ChildStats.gov (Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family)A working group of 22 Federal agencies, the Forum fosters coordination, collaboration, and integration of Federal efforts to collect, analyze and report data on conditions and trends in issues related to child and family well-being. The Forum also has partners in private research organizations.
Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent HealthThe mission of the Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health (DRC) is to advance the effective use of public data on the status of children’s health and health-related services for children, youth and families in the United States. The DRC does this by providing hands-on access to national, state, and regional data findings from large population-based surveys.
PeriStats (March of Dimes)PeriStats provides access to maternal and infant health data for the United States and by state or region, including more than 60,000 graphs, maps, and tables.
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System - YRBSS (CDC)The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors six types of health-risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults.
The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (NIH-UNC)The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health) is a longitudinal study of a nationally representative sample of adolescents in grades 7-12 in the United States during the 1994-95 school year.
The State of Childhood ObesityThe State of Childhood Obesity collects the best-available data on childhood obesity rates, synthesizes and makes recommendations on key policies to prevent obesity, and highlights stories of action from across the country. The State of Childhood Obesity is a project of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.
Immigration, Health Care and Health (Robert Wood Johnson Foundation)"In an RWJF-supported study, authors examined factors that affect immigrants' vulnerability to inadequate health care, including socioeconomic background; immigration status; limited English proficiency; federal, state and local policies on access to publicly funded health care; residential location; and stigma and marginalization."
Immigration Data MattersFrom the Migration Policy Institute, "The guide covers a wide range of topics, among them foreign-born population stocks and flows, humanitarian and labor migration, naturalization, education and language attainment, labor force participation, income and poverty rates, remittance size and flow, immigration enforcement actions, public opinion, religious affiliation, and development indicators."
Migration Data Portal"The Portal aims to serve as a unique access point to timely, comprehensive migration statistics and reliable information about migration data globally."
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics (DHS)The Yearbook of Immigration Statistics is a compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence (i.e., admitted as immigrants or became legal permanent residents), were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis (e.g., tourists, students, or workers), applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized.
DiversityData.orgThe DiversityData project identifies metropolitan area indicators of diversity, opportunity, quality of life and health for various racial and ethnic population groups. The choice of indicators was grounded in recent work on urban inequality and health inequality, which points to the significance of racial/ethnic disparities in health, educational, employment and housing opportunities across metro areas.
RCMD - Resource Center for Minority Data (ICPSR)RCMD catalogs studies across the social science disciplines and provides SAS, PASW (formerly SPSS), and Stata files for the studies in the RCMD collection.
Minority Health Surveillance- REACH U.S. 2018 (CDC)REACH uses evidence-based strategies to create healthier communities for populations experiencing chronic disease health disparities.
REACH is a national program administered by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to reduce racial and ethnic health disparities. REACH 2014, a 3-year initiative, will build on a body of knowledge developed through previous REACH programs. It will also strengthen capacity and implement evidence- and practice-based strategies in racial and ethnic communities.
The State of Aging and Health in America: Data Briefs (CDC)"State of Aging and Health in America: Data Brief Series are topic-specific documents focusing on public health issues related to older adults. These briefs provide public health professionals with the most recent data available on health and aging related conditions, including the importance of brain health, the management of chronic conditions, and caregiving burdens, to help identify needs and mitigate the future effects of a growing older population.
The briefs also provide data by important breakdowns such as by state, age, gender, and ethnicity which can be useful for states and other stakeholders in making informed decisions and policies related to these issues."
AgingStats.gov (Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics)Includes link to: Older Americans : Key Indicators of Well-Being
This report provides the latest data on the 37 key indicators selected by the Forum to portray aspects of the lives of older Americans and their families. It is divided into five subject areas: population, economics, health status, health risks and behaviors, and health care.
National Trends & Aging Trends Study (NHATS) (Johns Hopkins)The National Health and Aging Trends Study (NHATS) is a new resource for the scientific study of functioning in later life. The NHATS is being conducted by the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health, with data collection by Westat, and support from the National Institute on Aging. In design and content, NHATS is intended to foster research that will guide efforts to reduce disability, maximize health and independent functioning, and enhance quality of life at older ages.
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)NACDA acquires and preserves data relevant to gerontological research, processing as needed to promote effective research use, disseminates them to researchers, and facilitates their use. By preserving and making available the largest library of electronic data on aging in the United States, NACDA offers opportunities for secondary analysis on major issues of scientific and policy relevance.
Health and Retirement Study (University of Michigan)The University of Michigan Health and Retirement Study (HRS) is a longitudinal panel study that surveys a representative sample of more than 26,000 Americans over the age of 50 every two years. Registration Required.
The Aging Readiness & Competitiveness ReportThe world is aging at an unprecedented pace. In the coming decades, large and small, industrialized and developing countries alike, with few exceptions, will experience a rapid growth in the proportion of their populations age 65 or older, driven by longer lifespans and declining birthrates. With this looming demographic transformation, a healthier, more productive, and more engaged older population is essential to building a prosperous and sustainable future. As such, a rethinking of the role of older adults in our communities and economies is imperative. AARP and FP Analytics have partnered to conduct an in-depth study of aging policy in 12 countries to produce the Aging Readiness and Competitiveness (ARC) Report.
The Cardiovascular Health Study (NHLBI)The Cardiovascular Health Study (CHS) is an NHLBI-funded observational study of risk factors for cardiovascular disease in adults 65 years or older.
LGBTData.comLGBTData.com serves as a no-cost, open-access clearinghouse for the collection of sexual orientation & gender identity data and measures. Created by Dr. Randall L. Sell of of the School of Public Health at Drexel University.
State Profiles for Women's Health (Kaiser)This interactive map and dashboard offers the latest national and state-specific data on women’s health in the United States via comprehensive, easy-to-access state profiles. Just hover over a state in the map to see key facts for women on demographics, health coverage and access to care, sexual health, or pregnancy. Click on a state to see a dashboard of charts with state-specific data on women’s health, including insurance and Medicaid coverage, poverty, mental health, HIV, cancer, pregnancy, abortions, and use of preventive services. Many indicators provide health care information for women of different racial and ethnic groups. The profiles draw from multiple sources, including the latest data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the U.S. Census Bureau. Each chart can be downloaded easily.
Women's Health USA 2013 (DHHS - HRSA)Women’s Health USA is an easy-to-use collection of current and historical data on some of the most pressing health challenges facing women, their families, and their communities. This is the last edition.
