The Area Health Resource File is a collection of data from more than 50 sources and includes data related to: Health Facilities, Hospital Utilization, Hospital Expenditures, and Health Care Professions.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (AHRQ - Dept Health Human Serv)The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP, pronounced "H-Cup") is a family of health care databases and related software tools and products developed through a Federal-State-Industry partnership and sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
Hospital Compare (CMS)Hospital Compare is a consumer-oriented website that provides information on how well hospitals provide recommended care to their patients. Includes a tabbed link to Research, Statistics, Data and Systems.
National Hospital Care Survey (CDC)Tracks the latest trends affecting hospitals and health care organizations and factors that influence the use of health care resources, the quality of health care and disparities in health care services provided to population subgroups in the United States.
National Hospital Ambulatory Medical Care SurveyThe National Hospital Ambulatory Medical Care Survey (NHAMCS) is designed to collect data on the utilization and provision of ambulatory care services in hospital emergency and outpatient departments and ambulatory surgery locations.
An interactive tool that provides information on U.S. health spending by federal & local governments, private companies & individuals. (Kaiser Family Foundation)
Health Insurance Data (U.S. Census)The Census Bureau collects health insurance data using three national surveys: the Current Population Survey's Annual Social and Economic Supplement (CPS ASEC), the American Community Survey (ACS) and the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP).
DataMedicare.govThis site provides direct access to the official data from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) that’s used on the Medicare.gov Compare Websites and Directories.
CMS Data NavigatorThe CMS Data Navigator application is an easy-to-use, menu-driven search tool. Use the Data Navigator to find data for specific CMS programs, such as Medicare and Medicaid, or on specific health care topics or settings-of-care. Navigator displays search results by data type making it easier to locate specific types of information (e.g., data files, publications, statistical reports, etc.).
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) (AHRQ - Dept Health Human Serv)The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.
Cost Reports (CMS)The Healthcare Cost Report Information System (HCRIS) contains annual reports submitted by institutional providers to Medicare. It provides information to CMS that assists with the annual settlement summary between CMS and the institutional provider. The cost report information includes facility level: utilization statistics, costs, charges, payments and other financial information.
These data include information comparing the charges for the 100 most common inpatient and 30 common outpatient services. Presented in an Excel spreadsheet format.
Health System Data Center (The Commonwealth Fund)Provides the ability to search by zip code to locate regional information related to insurance coverage, cost-related issues with seeking health care and other issues related to access.
The Urban Institute's Health Policy Center analyzes trends and underlying causes of changes in health insurance coverage, access to care, and use of health care services by the entire US population.
State Health Access Data Assistance Center (SHADAC)The University of Minnesota's State Health Access Data Assistance Center (SHADAC) is funded by The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation to help states monitor rates of health insurance coverage, understand factors associated with access to care, and to utilize data for implementation of health reform.
Data on health care costs & quality. In some cases, state and local data available. Search by condition, treatment, or test. (HCCI)
Health, United States (NCHS)Health, United States is the report on the health status of the country, submitted by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to the President and the Congress of the United States. Every year, the report presents an overview of national health trends organized around four subject areas: health status and determinants, utilization of health resources, health care resources, and health care expenditures and payers.
