Find Cancer Statistics - National Cancer Institute (NCI)Statistics tell us things such as how many people are diagnosed with and die from cancer each year, the number of people who are currently living after a cancer diagnosis, the average age at diagnosis, and the numbers of people who are still alive at a given time after diagnosis. They also tell us about differences among groups defined by age, sex, racial/ethnic group, geographic location, and other categories.
Cancer Statistics by Race/Ethnicity - National Cancer Institute (NCI)The NCI has recognized the need to better define the cancer burden in racial/ethnic minorities and medically underserved populations and supports research, applications and surveillance on the full diversity of the United States population.
SEER: Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (NCI)A comprehensive site of cancer statistics. Includes datasets and links to many other resources. For information regarding an eRA Commons account to access the SEER database, please contact Public Health Sciences.
American Cancer Society: Cancer Facts and StatisticsThe American Cancer Society projects the numbers of new cancer cases and deaths expected each year in order to estimate the contemporary cancer burden, because cancer incidence and mortality data lag three to four years behind the current year. In addition, the regularly updated Facts & Figures publications present the most current trends in cancer occurrence and survival, as well as information on symptoms, prevention, early detection and treatment.
Cancer Trends Progress Report (NCI)Summarizes the U.S. progress against cancer in relation to Healthy People targets set forth by the Department of Health and Human Services. Includes key measures of progress to illustrate where advances have been made.
United States Cancer Statistics (NPCR - CDC)Cancer incidence and mortality data. A good place to start your search for cancer-related statistics. Includes the official federal statistics on cancer incidence from high-quality registries. It is produced by Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the National Cancer Institute (NCI), in collaboration with the North American Association of Central Cancer Registries (NAACCR).
CINA (Cancer in North America) - Data and Publications (NAACCR)Produced annually, the CINA report provides the most current cancer incidence and mortality statistics for the United States and Canada. It also serves as the foundation for such publications as the American Cancer Society’s Cancer Facts & Figures and the US Annual Report to the Nation.
Cancer Statistics, 2023Each year, the American Cancer Society estimates the numbers of new cancer cases and deaths that will occur in the United States and compiles the most recent data on cancer incidence, mortality, and survival.
Interactive Atlas of Heart Disease and Stroke (CDC)This application allows users to view county-level maps of heart disease and stroke, along with maps of social environmental conditions and health services for the entire United States or for a chosen state or territory. Congressional boundaries and health care facilities can be added with an overlay.
Cardiovascular diseases (WHO)The atlas addresses the global epidemic of heart disease and stroke in a clear and accessible format. This highly valuable reference material has been designed for use by policy makers, national and international organizations, health professionals and the general public. This picturesque atlas is in six parts: cardiovascular disease; risk factors; the burden; action; the future and the past; and world tables.
The State of Mental Health and Aging (CDC)This report series and interactive data website provide a framework for examining the mental health of adults age 50 and older in the United States. The first Issue Brief and data website review existing data and lay the foundation for understanding key issues related to mental health in older adults. The second Issue Brief focuses on programs and resources to address depression in this population.
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (CDC)Behaviors that contribute to unintentional injuries and violence
Sexual behaviors that contribute to unintended pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases, including HIV infection
Alcohol and other drug use
Tobacco use
Unhealthy dietary behaviors
Inadequate physical activity
YRBSS also measures the prevalence of obesity and asthma among youth and young adults.
Annual Disability Statistics Compendium ReportThe Annual Disability Statistics Compendium, Annual Disability Statistics Supplement, and State Reports for County-level Data are web-based tools that pool disability statistics published by various federal agencies together in one place.
Diabetes Data & Trends (CDC)Diabetes Data and Statistics, the Web publication of the US Diabetes Surveillance System, provides resources documenting the public health burden of diabetes and its complications in the United States. Information is available at national and state levels.
State of ObesityTrust for America’s Health’s (TFAH) 19th annual report includes data by race, age, and state of residence and recommendations for policy action. The report is based in part on 2021 data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Behavioral Risk Factors Surveillance System and analysis by TFAH.
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NCHI-CDC)The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations.
Behavior Risk Factor Survellence System (BRFSS) (CDC)The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation's premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (Bureau of Labor Statistics)Provides annual information on the rate and number of work related injuries, illnesses, and fatal injuries, and how these statistics vary by incident, industry, geography, occupation, and other characteristics.
