Skip to Main Content

Journals: All About Journals and Full Text: Find It @ Sladen

This guide contains information about accessing the electronic and print journals at the Sladen Library. Use this guide to also learn about retrieving full text articles from databases, journal metrics, and alerting services.

Find It @ Sladen Menu

"Find It @ Sladen" allows you to link from article citations to the electronic full text of the article or other services available through the Sladen Library. 

When you see the red  button appear on citations in databases such as Ovid or PubMed while performing a search, clicking on the button will display the "Find It @ Sladen" menu [see example below].  From the menu you can:

  • Access the full text of the article, if available
  • Link to ILLiad - Sladen Library's article ordering service
  • Find how to contact the library for help

If full text is available, as in the example above, click on the  button within the section labeled “Is it online?” and the article will open in a new window.  

Tips:

  • Make sure your browser does not automatically block pop-ups!   
  • Pay attention to any notes on the menu, such as coverage years and IDs and passwords.    
  • In some instances, an article may be available open access, even if the Find it at Sladen button link says that “no electronic access is available,” because our system is built to recognize items that we pay for. In these cases, it may be helpful to click the DOI link or open access button instead, to check for open access.

Article Requests

Need an article from a journal that the library does not provide access to? Not a problem, we can request a copy of the article be sent from another library using our ILLiad system. Please visit the links below for more information. 

Journal Questions or Problems?

Contact Sladen Library

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Brianna Andre
Contact:
Sladen Library
2799 W. Grand Blvd.
Henry Ford Hospital, K-17
Detroit, MI 48202
313-916-8745

Access

Sladen databases and electronic resources are available for Henry Ford Health physicians, team members, and affiliated students.  If you are using a computer at a Henry Ford facility or connected to the Henry Ford Health network, you will not be required to login.

For offsite access at home or off-network, you will need to sign in. Use your Henry Ford Health corporate ID and password to login to Sladen Remote Access. 

Please visit our web page, Sladen Remote Access, for further information.