Authors: Manuscript/CV Preparation & More: EndNote

Q1: What is EndNote?
EndNote is a software program that allows you to create, manage, and store bibliographic references for easy access and sharing. EndNote can be used to insert citations to any of these bibliographic references into your manuscript, documents or PowerPoint slides. EndNote also allows you to search for the full-text PDFs for an records in your EndNote library for easy storage and organization of articles. 

Q2: How can EndNote save me time?
EndNote provides the ability to store and compile references that can then be inserted into a variety of word processing programs (including Microsoft Word, Apple Pages and Google Docs) as well as PowerPoint. EndNote keeps track of where each citation is used in the document, so if you need to add or delete a citation, EndNote will renumber the remaining/existing citations for you. If you need to prepare your manuscript for submission to a new journal, EndNote can quickly update the citation and reference style in seconds by simply changing the output style to the new journal.

Q3: Where can I turn for EndNote support?

• For installation assistance, contact Joe Escribano at jescrib1@hfhs.org or (313) 916-2550
• For EndNote program assistance, contact Stephanie Stebens at ssteben1@hfhs.org or (313) 916-2550

Recorded tutorials and videos are available on the EndNote Training website.  Clarivate also provides free live webinars that can assist you with learning to work with EndNote and using it to its full potential. 

Do you have a PDF and would like to extract all of the references and place them in an EndNote library?  If so, HubMed may be useful to you!  The HubMed Citation Finder allows you to copy and paste references from PDF files and convert them into PubMed search results. The results can then be imported into Endnote.

** Please note that this may not work on scanned PDF/Word files and it is recommended that you double check HubMed's citation report to ensure accuracy.

Do you have an EndNote question?  Call us at (313) 916-2550 or email sladen@hfhs.org for further assistance.

EndNote 2025 is now available for installation on Henry Ford Health and personal computers for Henry Ford Health employees, staff, trainees and affiliated students for free from Sladen Library. 

• To install EndNote 2025 on your personal computer, you can request a download link by filling out our online EndNote User Agreement. Once we have received the completed agreement, we will contact you with the download link and installation instructions.

• To install EndNote 2025 on your Henry Ford Health computer, open the Software Center on your computer (from the Start menu either search for Software Center or in your All Programs list, go to Microsoft Configuration Manager and select the Software Center). Select EndNote 2025 from the list of available programs and click the Install button.  The program will then be installed on your work computer. Please note, this option only works for Henry Ford Health computers behind the corporate firewall.

This guide will assist you with using EndNote by covering the following: importing references from PubMed, manually creating references, organizing your references with Groups, utilizing the Find-Full-Text feature to attach PDFs to records, selecting output styles, and working with Word to insert citations and references into a Word document.

Are you interested in receiving instruction on EndNote? Sladen Library has many options available to assist you in learning how to use EndNote to its greatest potential. 

We offer

• Personalized one-on-one training sessions
• Group training sessions
• Departmental in-service sessions

We offer two group training sessions for EndNote: Basic and Advanced.  To view the Training Session schedule, descriptions of the sessions, and register for a session, please visit the Sladen Library Training Session page.

AI Tools

EndNote 2025 has new AI features integrated into the desktop platform.

• An AI Key Takeway tool is available to provide a summary and key insights from PDF attachments in your EndNote library. Two paragraphs will display for the AI Key Takeaway - the first is a brief overview and the second highlights any other topics addressed within the document. You must have an EndNote online account and syncing needs to be enabled in your EndNote library in order to use the feature - for more information about setting up an account and syncing, see this article from EndNote.
• Another AI tool available is the Find a Journal feature. This tool is only available in the Cite While You Write plugin in Google Docs and Microsoft Office Online - it is not available in the desktop version.

Tools Drop Down

The Find Full-Text and Find Reference Updates are now available from a Tools drop down menu in the Edit tab of each reference. The Find Reference Updates can be used to update your EndNote records with missing publication details, especially for epub ahead of print items that have since been published in a print issue of the journal, as well as pull in any missing details, such as abstracts, keywords, and DOIs.

Layout Options

For any previous EndNote users that missed the option of changing the layout of the Summary, Edit and PDF side panel along the bottom of the library, good news - EndNote 2025 allows you to split the display horizontally or vertically (default). The settings can be changed using the gear in the upper corner of the side panel.