This guide contains resources for clinicians, researchers, and patients in the field of Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine. Please contact Sladen Library for assistance.
Are you looking for health information? Ask The Medical Librarian! A professional librarian will research your topic and email you a personalized information packet of materials written for patients. (Mail through US postal service is not available at this time.)
You can request consumer health services by using the Ask The Medical Librarian Request Form.
**Please note that Sladen librarians are unable to diagnose patients. Please contact your physician for health-related concerns.
Sladen databases and electronic resources are available for Henry Ford Health team members and affiliated students.
• If you are using a computer at a Henry Ford Health facility or on the Henry Ford Health network, you will not need an ID and password to access online resources.
• For access from home or off-network, you will be prompted to login to remote access.
• Most users can login to the library remotely using their Henry Ford Health Corp ID and password (it's the same as your Henry Ford Health Outlook ID and password). Contact the Sladen Library if you do not have a Henry Ford Health Corp ID and password.
Please visit our web page Sladen Remote Access for further information.
Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders, 2-Volume Set, 5th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Turn to the field's definitive text for a thoroughunderstanding of the clinical and scientific aspects of pulmonary medicine A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Since 1980, Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders has delivered unparalleled coverage of pulmonary medicine and the underlying basic and applied science upon which clinical practice is based. The Fifth Edition, with 270 contributing authors, includes over 2,000 illustrations, 60 videos, and 18,000 references. The book opens with a comprehensive overview of the scientific basis of lung function in health and disease. It then provides detailed coverage of the broad array of diseases and disorders affecting the respiratory system, including obstructive and restrictive diseases, pulmonary vascular disorders, sleep-disordered breathing, lung neoplasms,respiratory infections, and respiratory failure, among others. The Fifth Edition has been completely updated to reflect the many advancements that have been made in pulmonary medicine over the past few years, including: Molecular development of the lung Stem cells and respiratory disease Genetics of pulmonary disease and the growth of personalized medicine Technical advances in lung transplantation Growth in immunology and immunosuppressive management Diagnosis and treatment of pulmonary hypertension Circadian rhythms and sleep biology Rapid evolution in lung imaging techniques, including functional imaging Contemporary interventional bronchoscopic techniques You will also find state-of-the-art coverage of thelatest topics in critical care medicine, including: Early diagnosis and management of sepsis Multiple organ dysfunction syndrome (MODS) Acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) Management of agitation and delirium in the ICU The newly defined entity of "chronic critical illness"
Principles of Pulmonary Medicine by
With an emphasis on the pathophysiologic basis of pulmonary disease, Principles of Pulmonary Medicine, 7th Edition, by Drs. Steven E Weinberger, Barbara A Cockrill, and Jess Mandel, provides a superbly illustrated introduction to this fast-changing field. This essential text employs a concise and understandable approach, integrating clinical topics with underlying physiologic, pathophysiologic, and basic science concepts critical for medical students, trainees, and those looking for a practical update on both acute and chronic pulmonary diseases Offers access to extensive online resources, including author commentaries, video clips, audio recordings of lung sounds, and 200 case-based self-assessment questions - covering topics including pulmonary function tests, physiologic data, and arterial blood gas testing and modeled after the USMLE exam. Discusses therapeutic strategies, including the available evidence for assessing relative benefits, harms, and costs, where appropriate. Provides an excellent visual basis for understanding and interpreting pulmonary disease with easy-to-understand anatomic illustrations and accompanying radiologic and pathophysiologic images. Covers all that's new in the field, including new CT lung cancer screening guidelines; new concepts in the pathogenesis of asthma, interstitial lung disease, and other pulmonary diseases; and evolving therapies for idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, pulmonary hypertension, and advanced lung cancer. Features updated information on the expanded use of advanced interventional pulmonology (bronchoscopic) procedures, improvements in precision treatment of lung tumors based on genetic profiles, and new and emerging infections with respiratory involvement. Covers hot topics such as lung tumor treatment, including use of genetic markers and immunotherapy; lung cancer screening reflecting the latest guidelines on who, how, and when to screen; and newer bronchoscopic procedures, such as navigational bronchoscopy. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The following is a list of Sladen Library databases that will be helpful in locating articles and information. If you would like search help or research assistance from a Sladen librarian, please contact the library or fill out the Literature Search Request form.
UpToDate provides evidence-based summaries on a variety of clinical topics, drug information powered by LexiComp, and a collection of medical calculators.
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that delivers access to authoritative medical and surgical content from Elsevier. ClinicalKey provides over 500 full text journals, over 1000 reference books, Procedures Consult videos, and more.
Ask a Sladen Librarian using our chat service available Monday-Friday 8:30am - 4:00pm.
Micromedex provides quick access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases including features to assist with drug comparison, drug identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing. Helpful laboratory tools such as measurement and conversion calculators are also available within this resource.
Provides clinically relevant, in-depth coverage of information pertaining to generic, brand name, nutritional, herbal, and investigational drugs. Other features include a pill identifier, drug interaction reports, IV compatibility, and calculators.
Henry Ford Health Scholarly Commons is the institutional repository for Henry Ford Health, a way to provide a permanent, comprehensive record of our research and scholarly activity. Scholarly Commons is web-based and free to use.
Journal articles and conference abstracts by members of Henry Ford Health's Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine can be accessed here. Visit scholarlycommons.henryford.com to browse publications by department.
