Subject Guides: COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Resources: Research/Open Access

Sladen Literature Search Service

Not finding the information you need? The Sladen Librarians are here to assist. We can run a literature search for you on COVID-19, or any topic needed. You can submit your request via our online form, or send us an email.

Literature Search Request Form

Literature Digests

The amount of literature being produced about COVID-19 and related topics is overwhelming. The below services try to sort through the noise for you, in order to quickly bring you the most important information.

Cochrane Reviews
Aims to: inform front-line medical staff, policy makers, and consumers about the priority reviews Cochrane has published or is actively pursuing; direct researchers to priority areas for Cochrane Reviews that have emerged through consultation with content experts and Cochrane Groups; provide resources for authors to conduct high-quality rapid reviews and clear information about what to expect from the editorial process.
COVID-19 Evidence Alerts from McMaster PLUS
COVID-19 Evidence Alerts from McMaster PLUS is a new service that alerts users to current best evidence for clinical care of people with threatened, suspected or confirmed COVID-19 infection.
MIT Press Rapid Reviews COVID-19
An open-access overlay journal that seeks to accelerate peer review of COVID-19-related research and prevent the dissemination of false or misleading scientific news
NEJM Journal Watch COVID-19
Coverage of latest information on COVID-19 from across the medical literature and put into context by NEJM Journal Watch editors.
Retraction Watch: Retracted COVID-19 papers

Curated clinical overviews

The below resources contain evidence-based clinical information, organized to quickly find what you are looking for.

ClinicalKey Clinical Overview
Easy-to-scan clinically focused medical topic summaries designed to match the clinician workflow.
ClinicalKey Nursing Clinical Skill
Click on Clinical Skills, then Skills at the top, then 2020 COVID-19.
A new specialty titled “2020 COVID-19”. When applicable, updated content to increase awareness of personal protective equipment, isolation precautions, specimen collection, mechanical ventilation and other topics.
DynaMed COVID-19 open topics
COVID-19 specific summaries on topics such as special populations, cancer, cardiovascular disease, CKD, and pregnancy
Elsevier COVID-19 Healthcare Hub
Updated!
Toolkits by practice area, Clinical guidance from health authorities around the world about diagnosis and treatment
UpToDate - International public health and government guidelines
This topic includes links to select international and government-sponsored guidelines from several countries and regions around the world. We will update these links periodically; newer versions of some guidelines may be available on each organization's website.
UpToDate Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19): Epidemiology, virology, and prevention
UpToDate Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19): Management in hospitalized adults

Bench to Bedside by Nancy Khardori (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1498799698
Publication Date: 2018-01-31
Chapter: Microbiological Diagnosis of Viral Diseases temporarily available free from Taylor and Francis.

Clinical guidelines, guidance and research from top medical journals and organizations

AMA COVID-19 (2019 novel coronavirus) resource center for physicians
Includes clinical information, guides and resources, including A Physicians Guide to COVID-19 (must enter your information to download)
ASPEN - Resources for Clinicians Caring for Patients with Coronavirus
Guidelines for nutrition therapy and hydration
BMJ
Advisement on remote assessment, infection control, and best practices, in addition to the latest research and news.
Cochrane COVID-19 Study Register
A freely-available, continually-updated, annotated reference collection of human studies on COVID-19, including interventional, observational, diagnostic, prognostic, epidemiological, and economic designs. Qualitative studies are currently under evaluation.
JAMA Coronavirus Alert
The Lancet
This resource brings together new 2019 novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19) content from across The Lancet journals as it is published. All COVID-19 content is free to access.
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
This collection is a compilation of our resources related to COVID-19. Our publications explore prevention, response, and recovery from pandemic infectious disease.
NEJM
A collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary.

Open access research from a variety of publishers

AIP Publishing
To support global research during the COVID-19 pandemic, AIP Publishing has made this collection of articles on infectious diseases, epidemics, computational epidemiology, and pandemics free to read.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Chemistry in Coronavirus Research
Brief overview of the important contributions of chemistry to understanding and controlling the spread of coronaviruses and includes articles from ACS Infectious Diseases, ACS Chemical Biology, Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Reviews, and ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces as well as the preprint server ChemRxiv.
American Society for Microbiology Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) Research Registry
American Society of Mechanical Engineers COVID-19 Resource
Includes biomechanical engineering and medical devices
Annual Reviews Coronavirus Research collection
Scientists are working at an extraordinary pace to understand the biology of the virus while investigating potential therapeutics and vaccine treatments. In support of this critical research, Annual Reviews has curated a collection of articles to assist the scientific community.
BioWorld
Cambridge University Press
Free access to select articles.
Cell Press
"At Cell Press, we recognize the urgent need to quickly share information about SARS-CoV-2, the coronavirus that causes COVID-19. On this hub page, curated by members of our editorial team, you'll find the latest content about the outbreak as it appears in Cell Press journals."
Elsevier ScienceDirect
20,000 related articles free to access on ScienceDirect (opens to a pre-populated search). May ask for you to login or create a free account.
Free COVID-19 resources from Springer Nature Experiments
160+ coronavirus Protocols & Methods. The content includes, but is not limited to - the detection of coronavirus in various species, protocols on designing the vaccine, understanding the ultrastructure of viruses to design new drugs, etc.
IOP Publishing
Karger Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Mary Ann Liebert Coronavirus OA Collection
Sage Coronavirus (COVID-19) Research
Free Medical, Social, and Behavioral Science Articles from SAGE Publishing
Springer SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19
Related research articles from our journals, as well as additional commentary on this topic and relevant books. Springer Nature encourages early sharing of research submitted to all journals through preprints, and the In Review preprint service is available for many journals. They strongly urge authors submitting articles related to this emergency to share underlying datasets relating to the outbreak as rapidly and widely as possible.
SSRN’s Coronavirus and Infectious Disease Research page
A curated view into the early-stage research to help researchers, public health authorities, clinicians and the public understand, contain and manage this disease.
Taylor and Francis COVID-19: Novel Coronavirus Content Free to Access
Provides links and references to all relevant COVID-19 research articles, book chapters and information that can be freely accessed on Taylor & Francis Online and Taylor & Francis ebooks in support of the global efforts in diagnosis, treatment, prevention and further research into COVID-19.
Wiley Covid-19: Novel Coronavirus Outbreak
In addition to the articles on this site related to the current outbreak, Wiley is also making a collection of journal articles and book chapters on coronavirus research freely available to the global scientific community.

Downloadable datasets

CORD-19 (COVID-19 Open Research Dataset)
The Allen Institute for AI has partnered with leading research groups to prepare and distribute the COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19), a free resource of over 47,000 scholarly articles, including over 36,000 with full text, about COVID-19 and the coronavirus family of viruses for use by the global research community.
COVID-19 Curated Data, Modeling, and Policy Resources
COVID-19 presents an urgent need for data and tools for states, health care decision makers, providers, and others to predict need and direct resources, based on the best available evidence. Data sources, analytic tools, policy options, and other resources are increasing rapidly. Below is a preliminary list of resources organized by Mathematica from publicly available resources.
COVID-19 research database
The database includes medical and pharmacy claims data, electronic health record data, and mortality data. The COVID-19 research database is a consortium of institutions pooling their de-identified and limited pandemic-related data to allow researchers to more rapidly conduct studies at a large scale.
Interested researchers must register and apply for free.
Stephen B. Thacker CDC Library
This database is updated by systematically searching various bibliographic databases and hand searching selected grey literature sources. Updates are posted every day, Monday through Friday
Tableau
Stay up to date with the most impactful Coronavirus visualizations from the Tableau Community.

COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Resources: Research/Open Access