COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Resources: Info by Medical Specialty

New emerging diseases, new diagnostic modalities for resource-poor settings, new vaccine schedules - all significant, recent developments in the fast-changing field of tropical medicine. This comprehensive resource provides authoritative clinical guidance, useful statistics, and chapters covering organs, skills, and services, as well as traditional pathogen-based content. You'll get a full understanding of how to recognize and treat these unique health issues, no matter how widespread or difficult to control.

Recent years have seen an explosion in new kinds of data on infectious diseases, including data on social contacts, whole genome sequences of pathogens, biomarkers for susceptibility to infection, serological panel data, and surveillance data. The Handbook of Infectious Disease Data Analysisprovides an overview of many key statistical methods that have been developed in response to such new data streams and the associated ability to address key scientific and epidemiological questions.
Temporarily free from Taylor and Francis

The most current clinical information throughout, including key management strategies that may reduce some of the chronic sequelae of neonatal respiratory failure. New content on the role of microbiome in lung injury and lung development. Current coverage of non-invasive respiratory support, perinatal events and their influence on lung development and injury, cell-based lung therapy, automation of respiratory support, and oxygenation targeting in preterm infants.

Based on the need to humanize rather than medicalize the illness experience for patients, this text delves into palliative care beyond the specific diseases affecting the patient. Instead, content focuses on the whole person and family.

Mental Health Intervention and Treatment of First Responders and Emergency Workers is an essential reference source that focuses on the latest research for diagnosing and treating mental health issues experienced by emergency personnel and seeks to generate awareness and inform clinicians about the unique circumstances encountered by these professionals. While highlighting topics including anxiety disorders and stress management, this book is ideally designed for clinicians, therapists, psychologists, psychiatrists, practitioners, medical professionals, EMTs, law enforcement, fire departments, military, academicians, researchers, policymakers, and students seeking current research on psychological therapy methods regarding first responders.

This book focuses on how to formulate a mental health response with respect to the unique elements of pandemic outbreaks. Unlike other disaster psychiatry books that isolate aspects of an emergency, this book unifies the clinical aspects of disaster and psychosomatic psychiatry with infectious disease responses at the various levels, making it an excellent resource for tackling each stage of a crisis quickly and thoroughly.

As public health professionals around the world work tirelessly to respond to the COVID-19 pandemic, it is clear that traditional methods of contact tracing need to be augmented in order to help address a public health crisis of unprecedented scope. Innovators worldwide are racing to develop and implement novel public-facing technology solutions, including digital contact tracing technology. These technological products may aid public health surveillance and containment strategies for this pandemic and become part of the larger toolbox for future infectious outbreak prevention and control.

While COVID-19 has ravaged global economies and changed the way of life for us all, the disease has a disproportionately devastating impact on poorer communities. For the millions without a job because of community shut downs, decisions about basic necessities and the fear of healthcare costs for those diagnosed with the novel coronavirus become critical. In these uncertain times, international diplomacy, solidarity, and cooperation are vital. Dr. Peter Hotez, dean of the National School of Tropical Medicine at Baylor College of Medicine, provides an essential look at the global issue of health and poverty through the lens of COVID-19.

This manual provides concise and up-to-date knowledge on 15 infectious diseases that have the potential to become international threats, and tips on how to respond to each of them.

This book outlines the tools available to the infectious disease student or clinician seeking a thorough background in the epidemiology of infectious and communicable diseases. Building on many case studies and practical scenarios included, the book then uses the tools learnt to illustrate the fundamental concepts of the study of infectious diseases, such as infection spread, surveillance and control, infectivity, incubation periods, seroepidemiology, and immunity in populations.
Temporarily available from Taylor and Francis

Making Sense of Lung Function Tests, Second Edition familiarises both trainees and more experienced clinicians with the interpretation of a range of respiratory parameters. It places lung function in a clinical context using real-life examples and provides invaluable hands-on guidance.
Temporarily available from Taylor and Francis

Ideal for any medic or health professional embarking upon an intensive care rotation or specialism, this simple bedside handbook provides handy, pragmatic guidance to the day-to-day fundamentals of working in an intensive care unit, often a daunting prospect for the junior doctor, nurse and allied health professional encountering this challenging environment for the first time.
Temporarily available from Taylor and Francis