This toolkit is provided to assist you in finding the information you need in the field of LGBTQ+ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Questioning) Health Resources. If you need assistance, contact the Sladen Information Desk.
Click on the tabs along the top of the page to see the LGBTQ+ resources in each category.
Sladen databases and electronic resources are available for Henry Ford Health team members and affiliated students.
• If you are using a computer at a Henry Ford Health facility or on the Henry Ford Health network, you will not need an ID and password to access online resources.
• For access from home or off-network, you will be prompted to login to remote access.
• Most users can login to the library remotely using their Henry Ford Health Corp ID and password (it's the same as your Henry Ford Health Outlook ID and password). Contact the Sladen Library if you do not have a Henry Ford Health Corp ID and password.
Please visit our web page Sladen Remote Access for further information.
Pocket Guide to LGBTQ Mental Health by 
LGBT Health by
LGBT Health: Meeting the Needs of Gender and Sexual Minorities offers a first-of-its-kind, comprehensive view of mental, medical, and public health conditions within the LGBT community. This book examines the health outcomes and risk factors that gender and sexual minority groups face while simultaneously providing evidence-based clinical recommendations and resources for meeting their health needs. Drawing from leading scholars and practitioners of LGBT health, this holistic, centralized text synthesizes epidemiologic, medical, psychological, sociological, and public health research related to the origins of, current state of, and ways to improve LGBT health. The award-winning editors have assembled LGBT health experts who have conducted extensive research into diverse areas of LGBT health. Sections guide the reader through the entire spectrum of LGBT health, from the historical roots of LGBT health research all the way to modern, emerging lines of inquiry to improve health among diverse gender and sexual minority groups. Specific groundbreaking coverage includes such populations as LGBT veterans; reproductive health and parenting; sexual minority persons living with chronic illness and disability, and more. This encompassing volume serves as a go-to reference, a call to action, and a guide for anyone involved in researching and improving the health of LGBT populations. KEY FEATURESSynthesizes research from the psychological, sociological, medical, and public health fields into a comprehensive discussion of LGBT healthCovers the continuum of health from antecedents and sociocultural determinants through specific evidence-based approaches for improving outcomesIncludes specific focus on a wide range of health outcomes, including topics often neglected in the field such as reproductive health and parenting, intimate partner violence, cancer, and other chronic diseasesSpecifically investigates a variety of LGBT subgroups and their unique health needs including for LGBT veterans, transgender men and women, and racial and ethnic minorities who are LGBTPowerPoint slides with discussion questions available for qualified Instructors
LGBT Psychology and Mental Health by 
Medical management of vulnerable and underserved patients : principles, practice, and populations by The following is a list of Sladen Library databases that will be helpful in locating articles and information. If you would like search help or research assistance from a Sladen librarian, please contact the library or fill out the Literature Search Request form.
UpToDate provides evidence-based summaries on a variety of clinical topics, drug information powered by LexiComp, and a collection of medical calculators.
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that delivers access to authoritative medical and surgical content from Elsevier. ClinicalKey provides over 500 full text journals, over 1000 reference books, Procedures Consult videos, and more.
Ask a Sladen Librarian using our chat service available Monday-Friday 8:30am - 4:00pm.
