This guide is provided to assist you in finding information on Autism Spectrum Disorders. Click on the tabs along the top of the guide to see more.
If you need assistance, contact the Sladen Information Desk.
Are you looking for health information? Ask The Medical Librarian! A professional librarian will research your topic and email you a personalized information packet of materials written for patients. (Mail through US postal service is not available at this time.)
You can request consumer health services by using the Ask The Medical Librarian Request Form.
**Please note that Sladen librarians are unable to diagnose patients. Please contact your physician for health-related concerns.
Sladen databases and electronic resources are available for Henry Ford Health team members and affiliated students.
• If you are using a computer at a Henry Ford Health facility or on the Henry Ford Health network, you will not need an ID and password to access online resources.
• For access from home or off-network, you will be prompted to login to remote access.
• Most users can login to the library remotely using their Henry Ford Health Corp ID and password (it's the same as your Henry Ford Health Outlook ID and password). Contact the Sladen Library if you do not have a Henry Ford Health Corp ID and password.
Please visit our web page Sladen Remote Access for further information.
Autism Spectrum Disorders by
In DSM-5, published in 2013, the classification of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) was created, subsuming several diagnoses and representing a significant evolution from its first appearance in the DSM-III three decades earlier. Autism Spectrum Disorders reflects this evolution, offering clinicians and families a succinct, definitive, and up-to-date guide to current research in the field and its impact on assessment and treatment. The book begins with the epidemiology of ASDs, which have increased in prevalence, and explores genetic heritability and environmental risk factors. It then explains the roles of the psychiatrist, neurologist and pediatrician in assessing the patient, examines assessment tools and processes, and describes the latest advances in a variety of treatments and interventions. The text's focus is on educating and empowering families and health care providers to determine whether appropriate genetic testing and counseling have been undertaken, whether the individual has had the relevant assessment, and whether skilled behavioral treatment and additional medical assessment or treatment are required. Specifically, the text: * Reviews existing prevalence estimates for ASDs since 2000 and discusses methodological factors impacting the estimation of prevalence and the interpretation of changes in prevalence estimates over time.* Evaluates genomic and epigenomic research over the last decade in the context of translating findings to practice, in terms of testing (e.g., copy number variants and whole-exome sequencing) and counseling.* Examines the role of environmental toxicity in immune dysregulation, which has now been noted among individuals with ASD and their family members by numerous studies. * Reviews medical and cognitive assessments that may be needed.* Reviews targeted treatments that have the potential to reverse neurobiological abnormalities in ASD* Reviews behavioral treatments that are effective in promoting development and improving behavior.* Describes the Developmental, Individual Difference, Relationship-based (DIR) model, a comprehensive developmental theory with relevance across the lifespan, which targets the core deficits of ASD identified in DSM-5.* Provides an overview of school-based interventions for students with autism, exploring the rationale for conducting school-based research and examining existing teacher-, paraprofessional-, and peer-mediated interventions school-based interventions.* Explores other approaches to ASDs, such as complementary and integrative approaches and non-invasive brain stimulation technologies, including transcranial magnetic stimulation. The push for early screening is resulting in earlier diagnosis of ASDs and the provision of evidence-based interventions that have a positive impact on outcomes. Autism Spectrum Disorders provides a bench-to-bedside guide that is essential reading for health care providers and families facing the challenges inherent in these complex disorders.
Psychiatric Symptoms and Comorbidities in Autism Spectrum Disorder by
This book explains in detail the diagnosis, management, and treatment of comorbid disorders in patients with autism spectrum disorders (ASD). Important insights are provided into the nature of the symptoms of psychiatric comorbidities in these patients, and particularly children and adolescents, with a view to assisting clinicians in reaching a correct diagnosis that will permit the implementation of appropriate treatment strategies, whether psychological or pharmacological. The full range of potential comorbidities is considered, including mood disorders, anxiety disorders, obsessive-compulsive disorder, schizophrenia spectrum and other psychotic disorders, eating disorders, disruptive behavioral disorders, Tourette's disorder, and substance-related disorders. In each case guidance is provided on how to avoid incorrectly attributing symptoms to ASD and on treatment options. Psychiatric Comorbidities in Autism Spectrum Disorders will be of value to all practitioners who are confronted by patients with these complex co-occurring conditions.
The following is a list of Sladen Library databases that will be helpful in locating articles and information. If you would like search help or research assistance from a Sladen librarian, please contact the library or fill out the Literature Search Request form.
UpToDate provides evidence-based summaries on a variety of clinical topics, drug information powered by LexiComp, and a collection of medical calculators.
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that delivers access to authoritative medical and surgical content from Elsevier. ClinicalKey provides over 500 full text journals, over 1000 reference books, Procedures Consult videos, and more.
Ask a Sladen Librarian using our chat service available Monday-Friday 8:30am - 4:00pm.
Micromedex provides quick access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases including features to assist with drug comparison, drug identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing. Helpful laboratory tools such as measurement and conversion calculators are also available within this resource.
Provides clinically relevant, in-depth coverage of information pertaining to generic, brand name, nutritional, herbal, and investigational drugs. Other features include a pill identifier, drug interaction reports, IV compatibility, and calculators.
HFHS Scholarly Commons is the library’s institutional repository, a way to provide a permanent, comprehensive record of Henry Ford’s research and scholarly activity. Scholarly Commons is web-based and free to use.
Journal articles and conference abstracts by members of Henry Ford Health System on the topic of autism spectrum disorder can be accessed via a keyword search. Visit scholarlycommons.henryford.com to browse publications by department. A list of providers on the HFHS Autism Team can be found here.
