Skip to Main Content

Welcome Henry Ford Hospital Residents, Fellows, and Medical Students: Sladen Library

Ways to Contact the Sladen Library

Phone: 313-916-2550
Email: sladen@hfhs.org
Chat with Librarian: Monday-Friday 8:30am - 4:00pm
Online Request Forms
Text Us: 313-789-2275 (2ASK) Monday-Friday 8:30am - 4:00pm

Accessing Library Resources On- and Off-Campus

Sladen databases and other electronic resources are available for use by Henry Ford Health physicians, team members, and affiliated students.

On-Campus

  • If you are using a computer at a Henry Ford Health facility, you will not need to login to access online resources - access should be seamless

Off-Campus

  • For remote access from home or another off-network location, you will need to login
  • Through Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Safari (or other modern browser) go directly to the library homepage https://henryford.libguides.com/sladen
  • You can login at the start of your library session by clicking on Remote Access in the top right corner of the header; otherwise you will be prompted to login when you click on a library resource
  • Login using your Henry Ford Health CORP User Name and Password (Hint: It's the same credentials you use to login to your Henry Ford Health Outlook email/computer, just don't include the '@hfhs.org' portion of your email)

Welcome to the Sladen Library of Henry Ford Hospital

The Sladen Library staff welcomes you to Henry Ford Hospital. Sladen is a full-service library with trained professional, technical, and support staff. We look forward to working with you!

Our space provides a beautiful view of the city, computer workstations, worktables, study carrels, collaboration rooms that can be reserved for use, and comfortable seating if you need a quiet place to unwind.  

The Sladen Library is located on the 17th floor of Henry Ford Hospital's Clinic Building. The Library is open 5 days a week: Monday-Thursday 8am-7:30pm, Friday 8am-5pm. There is no after-hours access.

While access to online databases, books, and journals is consistent system-wide, the information on this guide is specific to users at Henry Ford Hospital - Detroit, West Bloomfield, and the medical centers.

House officers and medical students located at Macomb, Wyandotte, or Jackson hospitals should contact their campus library directly for assistance with literature searches, article requests, and other on-campus services. 

Key Library Services

Reference

When you need to research a topic or clinical question, call on the help of a Sladen Librarian. In addition to saving you time, you will have confidence that your question was comprehensively researched with premier medical and bibliographic databases. Literature searches are free, and typically results are returned within one business day. 

Books & Journals

We provide online access to thousands of medical journals covering many fields and specialties. In addition, we have an updated collection of print books available to checkout from the library and an extensive online eBook collection that is available 24/7.

Manuscript Preparation

If you writing a manuscript for publication, preparing your CV, or submitting a poster; we provide assistance with citation verification, formatting, and submission of your manuscript. 

Document Delivery

If you require an article or book not within our collection, we can obtain a copy for you from another library. 

Scholarly Commons

Scholarly Commons is the institutional repository for Henry Ford Health. Scholarly Commons collects and showcases a record of the journal content, meeting abstracts, posters and presentations from Henry Ford Health-hosted conferences, and other scholarly works produced by members of the Henry Ford Health community.

Training

We provide instruction on the use of library resources. Some popular sessions include how to use EndNote, how to search PubMed, and explaining the basics of evidence-based medicine. 

Reserve a Room

We have multiple spaces available to book for group study, small conferencing, or training purposes. 

Subject Guides

Our librarian-curated guides gather together key resources and information related to a specific topic or medical specialty.