Subject Guides: Welcome Henry Ford Hospital Residents, Fellows, and Medical Students: Key Resources

Mobile Resources

Check out our Mobile Resources Guide and discover how to access many of Sladen's top resources for free from your mobile device. Popular mobile resources include the UpToDate app, the journal reading app BrowZine, and Micromedex for drug information.

Mobile Apps Guide

EndNote

We provide free copies of the reference management software Endnote. Training and support for using EndNote is also available through the Sladen Library.

EndNote

Ask the Library

Call Us: 313-916-2550

Email Us: sladen@hfhs.org

Hours: Mon-Thur 8am-6:30pm; Fri 8am-5pm; Sat-Sun Closed

Call Us: 586-263-2485

Email: macomblibrary@hfhs.org

Hours: Mon-Fri 7am-3:30pm

Call Us: 734-246-7361

Email Us: wylibrary@hfhs.org

Hours: Mon-Fri 8am-4:30pm; Badge access for existing users

Call Us: 517-205-7133

Email Us: HFAHlibrarian@hfhs.org

Hours: Mon-Fri: 8am-4pm

Access to Key Sladen Resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to the MEDLINE database. It covers the fields of biomedicine, health, life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate provides evidence-based summaries on a variety of clinical topics, drug information powered by LexiComp, and a collection of medical calculators.
Embase This link opens in a new window
An international biomedical literature database that indexes more than 8,500 peer-reviewed journals for users looking for drug, medical device, and disease-related information.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window
VisualDX brings imagery to the point of care. VisualDx is a diagnostic, clinical support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy by visually representing the full spectrum of human disease across skin types.
BoardVitals This link opens in a new window
An online board exam review tool featuring exam prep materials for over 30 medical specialties, USMLE Step 3, and more. The NCLEX exam is no longer available in BoardVitals, use StatPearls for NCLEX.
To use the Question Banks purchased by Henry Ford Health, follow these instructions for setting up your account:
1. Go to https://www.boardvitals.com/users/sign_up?o=f82e552c58fa1a09e8c884bba7f65648
2. Use your HFHS email to create your account! This will authenticate you to the HFH subscription.
3. You will be sent a confirmation email. You must click on the confirmation link in the email to complete your registration.
4. If you have used BoardVitals in the past, you may need to clear your browser cache in order to update the question banks that are available to you.
Accessing Question Banks After Completing Registration:
1. Login to BoardVitals https://www.boardvitals.com/users/sign_in
2. From the BoardVitals homepage, DO NOT fill in the "occupation" and "Exam" dropdowns to locate the Question Banks. Instead, click on "My Dashboard" in the top right corner.
3. From your Dashboard, choose the desired Question Bank from the dropdown in the dark blue toolbar at the top of the page.
Medline / Ovid This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, allied health, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the pre-clinical sciences.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Micromedex provides quick access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases including features to assist with drug comparison, drug identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing. Helpful laboratory tools such as measurement and conversion calculators are also available within this resource.
Mobile app is available: https://henryford.libguides.com/mobile/drugs
Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new window
Provides clinically relevant, in-depth coverage of information pertaining to generic, brand name, nutritional, herbal, and investigational drugs. Other features include a pill identifier, drug interaction reports, IV compatibility, and calculators.
Mobile app is available: https://henryford.libguides.com/mobile/drugs
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that delivers access to authoritative medical and surgical content from Elsevier. ClinicalKey provides over 500 full text journals, over 1000 reference books, Procedures Consult videos, and more.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine provides access to more than 60 medical textbooks, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and diagnostic tools.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
StatRef provides online access to over 35 medical, nursing and pharmacology reference books. Open StatRef to view the full list of available titles.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
The CINAHL database (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the premier index for the literature of nursing and allied health.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the Science Citation Index Expanded from 2002-present. SCIE covers over 150 disciplines including medicine, biology, life sciences, and technology.

Listing of all Sladen Databases

Popular Journals

New England Journal of Medicine - NEJM

JAMA

The Lancet

Annals of Internal Medicine

Science