Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education & Training: Web of Science

Browse the Education & Training Guide to learn more about the services we offer to support research and scholarly communication. Also, view tutorials and help sheets on using select Sladen resources.

About Web of Science

Web of Science Features

Web of Science covers over 12,000 journals spanning the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities disciplines.  Search capabilities include keyword and advanced searching, ability to store citations and receive automatic alerts via email, save searches, and provides access to full-text holdings based on library holdings. This database also allows you to export citations to EndNote and ResearcherID.

Web of Science is also extremely useful when looking up meeting abstracts!

Accessing Full-Text

To determine Sladen Library holdings for a particular document, click on the  icon to determine whether the item is available electronically, in print, or will need to be ordered via ILLIAD

Need additional assistance?

A Librarian can conduct a one on one session with you on utilizing the Web of Science database.  Feel free to call the Reference desk (313) 916-2550.

Sign up for a Web of Science personal account

The Web of Science personal account allows you to store citation alerts and receive alerts regarding your saved search strategies via email or RSS feed.

** Please note that in order to create email alerts of your saved search strategies, you must conduct your search in the Web of Science database specifically, and not via use of the search box under the All Databases Tab. 

To register for a personal account, click here.

Web of Science Tutorials

Several tutorials are available via Thomson Reuters that will assist you with using the Web of Science Database and its many features.

About Journal Citation Reports (JCR): Thomson Reuter Impact Factor

Learn more about the Thomson Reuters Journal Impact Factor and its related H index, eigenfactor, and immediacy indicator.

Access to Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is currently available via Web of Science.  Click on the Journal Citation Reports tab at the top and then select to either search for a specific journal title or to view the impact factors for an entire subject area.