Subject Guides: Henry Ford Hospital Nursing Research Toolkit: Additional Reading

Check Out These Articles & Books for Additional Guidance

General Nursing Research

The CNS as a Researcher: Review of Concepts Kaplow, R., et al. (2017). "The CNS as a Researcher: Review of Concepts." Clin Nurse Spec 31(1): 12-16.

Evidence-based practice for nurses : Appraisal and application of research by Schmidt NA, Brown JM
ISBN: 9781284226386
Publication Date: 2021, 5th edition
Nursing Research by Geri LoBiondo-Wood; Judith Haber Find out why this book is a student favorite! Providing a solid foundation in nursing research and evidence-based practice, Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 10th Edition offers balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methodologies and an easy-to-read, easy-to-understand approach. This edition features new content on trending topics, including the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN), as well as improved usability, user-friendly learning aids, and full-text research articles to help you better understand how to apply research to everyday clinical practice. Balanced coverage explores the nursing research process and the EBP process, as well as qualitative and quantitative research methodologies. User-friendly writing style and engaging learning aids throughout the text include full-text research examples, Helpful Hints, EBP Tips, IPE Highlights, Research Vignettes, Clinical Judgment Challenges, Critical Appraisal Criteria, and more! Innovative format integrates examples from current, high-quality, relevant full-text research articles.
Call Number: WY 20.5 L25 2022 (at Sladen)
ISBN: 9780323762915
Publication Date: 2021, 10th edition
Advanced Nursing Research by Ruth M. Tappen Advanced Nursing Research: From Theory to Practice, Third Edition is the ideal graduate-level text for learning how to conduct nursing research, from development of an idea to the completion of the study. It focuses on the conduct of research with an emphasis on the connection to evidence-based practice, quality improvement, and the use of aggregate data.
ISBN: 9781284231755
Publication Date: 2022, 3rd edition
Nursing Research: Reading, Using, and Creating Evidence by Janet Houser Nursing Research: Reading, Using, and Creating Evidence, Fifth Edition is a foundational text for students which teaches the basics for creating and using evidence in nursing practice. Written in a conversational tone, the hallmark of this text is its readability and the author's skillfulness in simplifying otherwise complex topics such as evidence-based care, qualitative and quantitative studies, and translation of research to practice.
Call Number: WY 20.5 H94 2018 (available at Sladen)
ISBN: 9781284226294
Publication Date: 2021, 5e
Burns and Grove's the Practice of Nursing Research by Jennifer R. Gray; Susan K. Grove; Suzanne Sutherland Master the research methods used as a foundation for evidence-based practice! Burns and Grove's The Practice of Nursing Research, 8th Edition provides a solid foundation in the appraisal, synthesis, and generation of research evidence for clinical nursing practice. Not only will you learn how to properly evaluate and use existing research evidence, but you'll also learn how to participate in research and quality improvement projects. Updated to reflect today's focus on online research and evidence-based practice, this edition includes clear, step-by-step guidelines to research procedures as well as many examples from current and classic literature.
Call Number: WY 20.5 G96 2017 (available at Sladen)
ISBN: 9780323377584
Publication Date: 2017

Qualitative and Quantitative Research

Exploring the Evidence. Focusing on the Fundamentals: A Simplistic Differentiation Between Qualitative and Quantitative Research Rutberg, S. and C. D. Bouikidis (2018). "Exploring the Evidence. Focusing on the Fundamentals: A Simplistic Differentiation Between Qualitative and Quantitative Research." Nephrology Nursing Journal 45(2): 209-213. The article describes and explores the differences between quantitative and qualitative research. Topics discussed include information about the most commonly employed quantitative designs, the use of standardized questionnaires or experiments in quantitative studies to collect numeric data, and the social aspect of research addressed by qualitative studies.
Measurements in Quantitative Research: How to Select and Report on Research Instruments Hagan, T. L. (2014). "Measurements in Quantitative Research: How to Select and Report on Research Instruments." Oncology Nursing Forum 41(4): 431-433. Measures exist to numerically represent degrees of attributes. Quantitative research is based on measurement and is conducted in a systematic, controlled manner. These measures enable researchers to perform statistical tests, analyze differences between groups, and determine the effectiveness of treatments. If something is not measurable, it cannot be tested.

Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare by Immy Holloway; Kathleen Galvin This new edition provides clear explanations of abstract ideas in qualitative research as well as practical procedures. Structured into four sections, the book looks at the initial stages, methods of data collection, qualitative approaches and analysis of collected data. It also contains a chapter on writing up and publishing qualitative research.
Call Number: WY 20.5 H745 2017 (available at Sladen)
ISBN: 9781118874493
Publication Date: 2017

Mixed Methods Research

Guidance for Using Mixed Methods Design in Nursing Practice Research Chiang-Hanisko, L., et al. (2016). "Guidance for using mixed methods design in nursing practice research." Applied Nursing Research 31: 1-5. The mixed methods approach purposefully combines both quantitative and qualitative techniques, enabling a multi-faceted understanding of nursing phenomena. The purpose of this article is to introduce three mixed methods designs (parallel; sequential; conversion) and highlight interpretive processes that occur with the synthesis of qualitative and quantitative findings. Real world examples of research studies conducted by the authors will demonstrate the processes leading to the merger of data. The examples include: research questions; data collection procedures and analysis with a focus on synthesizing findings. Based on experience with mixed methods studied, the authors introduce two synthesis patterns (complementary; contrasting), considering application for practice and implications for research.
Unmixing Mixed-Methods Research Sandelowski, M. (2014). "Unmixing Mixed-Methods Research." Research in Nursing & Health 37(1): 3-8.

Research Components

Considering the Sample Fetzer, S. J. (2017). "Considering the Sample." Journal of PeriAnesthesia Nursing 32(4): 379-381.
Sampling Considerations in Emergency Nursing Research Carman, M. J., et al. (2015). "Sampling considerations in emergency nursing research." JEN: Journal of Emergency Nursing 41(2): 162-164.
Demographic Data in Research Studies Connelly, L. M. (2013). "Demographic Data in Research Studies." MEDSURG Nursing 22(4): 269-270.

Measurement in Nursing and Health Research, Fifth Edition by Carolyn Waltz (Editor); et al. This highly popular resource--written in an easy-to-read style and format-- delivers everything nurses and other health researchers need to know about designing, testing, selecting, and evaluating instruments and methods for measurement in nursing. The Fifth Edition features the most current content, strategies, and procedures available with direct applicability to nurses and health researchers engaging in interprofessional research, collaboration, education, and evidence-based practice.
Call Number: WY 20.5 W8 2017 (available at Sladen)
ISBN: 9780826170613
Publication Date: 2017
Statistics for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing by MyoungJin Kim; Caroline Mallory
Call Number: WA 950 K49S 2017
ISBN: 9781284088373
Publication Date: 2017, 2e

Project Management

Simple Tools to Facilitate Project Management of a Nursing Research Project Aycock, D. M., et al. (2017). "Simple Tools to Facilitate Project Management of a Nursing Research Project." Western Journal of Nursing Research 39(3): 430-443. Highly organized project management facilitates rigorous study implementation. Research involves gathering large amounts of information that can be overwhelming when organizational strategies are not used. We describe a variety of project management and organizational tools used in different studies that may be particularly useful for novice researchers. The studies were a multisite study of caregivers of stroke survivors, an Internet-based diary study of women with migraines, and a pilot study testing a sleep intervention in mothers of low-birth-weight infants. Project management tools were used to facilitate enrollment, data collection, and access to results. The tools included protocol and eligibility checklists, event calendars, screening and enrollment logs, instrument scoring tables, and data summary sheets. These tools created efficiency, promoted a positive image, minimized errors, and provided researchers with a sense of control. For the studies described, there were no protocol violations, there were minimal missing data, and the integrity of data collection was maintained.