Subject Guides: Radiologic Technology: APA Help

Information on Plagiarism

Browse through useful resources on how to recognize and avoid plagiarism.

Products to Check for Plagiarism (fee-based)

APA Style

The American Psychological Association (APA) style is a type of editorial style that dictates how written material should be presented to ensure clear and consistent presentation of the information.

APA style includes standards for:

The organization of the paper
The writing style of the paper - includes point of view, word choice, and tone
The use of punctuation and abbreviations
The presentation of numbers and statistics
The citing of references

Purdue Owl

The Purdue Online Writing Lab, most commonly referred to as the Purdue OWL, is a freely available online resource. The site includes a guide to APA Style.

Notable sections include:

APA Overview and Tutorial
This workshop is a good place to start to learn about APA style and format. THe workshop includes an overview of APA style and a list of links to all of their APA materials.
APA Formatting and Style Guide
Includes information on formatting a paper in APA style, in-text citation guidelines and examples, reference list guidelines and examples, levels of headings and organizing a paper, and guidelines for using abbreviations and numbers.
Sample Paper
This paper is part of the APA Formatting and Style Guide. It provides an example of a paper written in APA style with explanations of APA style guidelines and directions for writing and citing in APA style.

American Psychological Association's APA Style website

The American Psychological Association's website APA Style provides further information about APA Style that may not be included in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. The site includes free tutorials, frequently asked questions, and a link to the APA Style blog.

Notable sections include:

The Basics of APA Style Tutorial
The tutorial provides a brief overview of the basics of APA style.
Frequently Asked Questions about APA
Provides answers to the most frequently asked questions about APA style, references, punctuation, grammar and writing style, and formatting.
APA Style Blog
Discusses different aspects of writing and using APA style. Posts include information about different types of reference citations, grammar and usage, abbreviations, and computer tips.