Subject Guides: Healthcare Leadership: Learn and Grow

Have a Quick Question?

Ask a Sladen Librarian using our chat service available Monday-Friday 8:30am - 4:00pm.

Sladen Library Hours

Monday: 8am-7:30pm Tuesday: 8am-7:30pm Wednesday: 8am-7:30pm Thursday: 8am-7:30pm Friday: 8am-5:00pm Saturday & Sunday: Closed

Select Healthcare Leadership Books Available at Sladen

Available Online

McLaughlin and Kaluzny's Continuous Quality Improvement in Health Care

W 84.1 C66 2020

Quantum Leadership Creating Sustainable Value in Health Care

W 84.1 AL333 2022

W 84 R823 2021

HD 30 D621 2020

W 21.5 ST787 2019

W 84 AA1 W582 2019 and Online

WX 159 M478 2019

W 21 L473 2018

Available Online

HD 57.7 S354 2015

Available Online

Available Online

WX 155 M4775 2018

Available Online

Podcasts

Radio Advisory

The Advisory Board

Advancing Health

American Hospital Association

The Business of Healthcare Podcast

Center for Healthcare Leadership and Management, The University of Texas at Dallas

The HealthLeaders Podcast

HealthLeaders

The HBR IdeaCast and more Podcast Series

The Harvard Business Review

Becker's Healthcare Podcast and more Podcast Series

Becker's Hospital Review

Healthcare Executive

Healthcare Executive magazine

American College of Healthcare Executives

Databases and Resources

The following is a list of databases and resources that will be helpful in locating hospital administration and management articles and information. If you would like search help or research assistance from a Sladen librarian, please contact the library or fill out the Literature Search Request form.

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of scholarly, multidisciplinary literature.

EBSCO's eBook Business Collection
E-books from EBSCO's business collection, available through the Michigan eLibrary (requires a Michigan Driver's License or library card). You may access the full text of these eBooks from your computer, or download titles to most popular portable devices.
PubMed
Provided by the National Library of Medicine, the PubMed database searches over 21 million biomedical citations from the MEDLINE database and select life science journals.
Listing of all Sladen Databases

Internet Resources

Advisory Board
Provides research, guidance, and insight on timely issues facing health care leaders today. Free registration is required to view most materials. Follow the new user prompts to get started.
AHA - American Hospital Association
A wealth of data on U.S. hospitals including advocacy, research, and performance improvement.
American College of Healthcare Executives
ACHE recognizes that information and knowledge-sharing are crucial for today's healthcare leaders. To help meet this need, ACHE conducts year-round Research in the field of healthcare management and provides valuable healthcare management Resources to assist its members.
Baldrige Performance Excellence Program
The Baldrige Program is the nation's public-private partnership dedicated to performance excellence. The Baldrige Program provides organizational assessment tools and criteria, and educates leaders in businesses, schools, health care organizations, and government and nonprofit agencies about the practices of best-in-class organizations.
Commonwealth Fund
A private foundation dedicated to promoting high performing health care systems and improved services for America's most vulnerable populations.
Institute for Healthcare Improvement
Professional development programs — including conferences, seminars, and audio and web-based programs, IHI Open School offering free online courses and an international network of chapters, free content through website, ihi.org and audio program, WIHI. IHI also works with a wide range of entities — whether health care facilities, entire health care systems, or governments — to help them achieve significant results in quality, safety, and innovation.
National Center for Healthcare Leadership - NCHL
Leadership Award Dinner, Human Capital Investment Conference, Best Organizations for Leadership Development, Leadership Excellence Networks