Subject Guides: Systematic Reviews: A How-To Guide: Databases & Resources

Bibliographic Databases

Listing of all Sladen Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to the MEDLINE database. It covers the fields of biomedicine, health, life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
Medline / Ovid This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE provides an alternative interface for searching the MEDLINE database.
Cochrane Databases This link opens in a new window
To search the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) use the limit for "Trials"
Embase This link opens in a new window
An international biomedical literature database that indexes more than 8,500 peer-reviewed journals for users looking for drug, medical device, and disease-related information.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This database indexes over 12,000 scientific journals including conference abstracts.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database provides abstracts and citations to scholarly literature in the psychological, behavioral, and social health sciences.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
The CINAHL database (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the premier index for the literature of nursing and allied health.
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) This link opens in a new window
A meta-search engine that simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically-appraised topics and articles.

Dissertations & Theses

EThOS Electronic Theses Online Service
From the British Library, this database provides a search for theses published in the UK. Some are available for immediate download, but registration is required.

WorldCat Dissertations This link opens in a new window
This is a bibliographic database to search all of the dissertations, theses, and material published based on theses, cataloged by OCLC member libraries.

Conference Abstracts & Papers

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
To locate meeting abstracts, first run your search. Then on the results page, under "Refine Results" limit to the Document Type "Abstract."

PapersFirst (FirstSearch)
An index of papers presented at select conferences worldwide.
Proceedings (FirstSearch)
An index of select worldwide conference proceedings.
F1000 Posters
An open access repository for posters and slide presentations from various conferences in the fields of biology and medicine.
American Heart Association Scientific Sessions
AHA's Scientific Sessions online abstracts from 2014-present.
American Society for Hematology
ASH annual meeting abstracts from 2004-present.
CHEST Annual Meeting Abstracts
Meetings abstracts from the American College of Chest Physicians annual conference. Available from 2003-present.
Orthopaedic Proceedings
Orthopaedic Proceedings contains abstracts of papers presented at recent scientific meetings organized by orthopaedic associations and specialist societies. Please note that this does not include posters.

Search Engines

Google Scholar
Google Scholar should not be considered a primary source of literature for a systematic review. Because the search algorithm of Google is unknown, searches performed within this database cannot be reliably reproduced. Sometimes it's okay to use Google Scholar to check for gaps in your coverage, just don't make it your primary information source!
Google
To easily narrow your results, search for specific types of files, such as PDFs, PPTs, or DOCs, by adding "filetype:" and the 3-letter file abbreviation. For example, to find only PDFs on melanoma enter this into the search box "melanoma filetype:pdf"
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)

Trial Registries

ClinicalTrials.gov
A registry and results database of public and private clinical trials around the world.
EU Clinical Trials Register
This website provides information on interventional clinical trials on medicines in the European Union. Note, this website does not provide results of trials.
GlaxoSmithKline Clinical Study Register
Easily accessible repository of data from GSK-Sponsored Clinical Studies, supplementing communication in journals, at scientific meetings, in letters to healthcare professionals, and in approved prescribing information.

Select Grey Literature Sources

Grey literature is comprised of informally published and unpublished materials, such as technical reports, statistical reports, theses, and clinical trial registries. Grey literature can be difficult to locate, but may lead you to studies not published in traditional journals.

GreySource
A selection of web-based resources in grey literature. Maintained by the GreyNet International.
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ) - Research Findings
Collection of research reports from the AHRQ.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
Search for articles in open access journals that may not be indexed in Medline or other databases.
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine - Reports
U S Food and Drug Administration
Search for reports on drugs and medical devices.