This guide is provided to assist you in finding the information you need in the field of Nephrology. If you need assistance, contact the Sladen Information Desk.
Click on the tabs along the top of the page to see the Nephrology resources in each category.
Sladen databases and electronic resources are available for Henry Ford Health team members and affiliated students.
• If you are using a computer at a Henry Ford Health facility or on the Henry Ford Health network, you will not need an ID and password to access online resources.
• For access from home or off-network, you will be prompted to login to remote access.
• Most users can login to the library remotely using their Henry Ford Health Corp ID and password (it's the same as your Henry Ford Health Outlook ID and password). Contact the Sladen Library if you do not have a Henry Ford Health Corp ID and password.
Please visit our web page Sladen Remote Access for further information.
Comprehensive Clinical Nephrology by
Written for fellows, practicing nephrologists, and internists who treat patients with disorders affecting the renal system, Comprehensive Clinical Nephrology, 7th Edition, offers a practical approach to this complex field, supported by underlying scientific facts and pathophysiology. World leaders in nephrology provide current information on clinical procedures and conditions, covering everything from fluid and electrolyte disorders to hypertension, diabetes, dialysis, transplantation, and more-all in a single, convenient volume. Provides a "just right" amount of basic science and practical clinical guidance to help you make efficient and informed decisions. Contains new chapters on Blood Pressure Management in the Dialysis Patient, Kidney Diseases Associated with Corona Viruses, Ultrasound Imaging in Nephrology, and Radiologic and Nuclear Imaging in Nephrology. Includes more than 1,500 full-color illustrations that highlight key topics and detail pathogenesis for a full range of kidney conditions and clinical management. Covers key topics such as COVID-19, chronic kidney disease, end stage kidney disease, kidney transplantation, glomerular disease, onco-nephrology, dialysis, and much more. Features popular, color-coded algorithms that provide easy access to important content: yellow boxes for general information, green boxes for therapeutic intervention, and blue boxes for necessary investigations. Includes quick-reference boxes with links to clinical guidelines in all relevant chapters, plus self-assessment questions online. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Onco-Nephrology by
Kidney disease and cancer are frequent comorbidities that require specialized knowledge and expertise from both the nephrologist and the oncologist. Written by three pioneers in this growing subspecialty, Onco-Nephrology provides authoritative, definitive coverage of the mechanism and management of these two life-threatening diseases. This unique, single-volume resource covers current protocols and recommends management therapies to arrest kidney failure and allow oncologic treatments to continue and succeed. Addresses acute and chronic kidney diseases that develop from a variety of cancers. This includes direct kidney injury from the malignancy, paraneoplastic effects of the cancer, and various cancer agents used to treat the malignancy. Discusses key issues regarding kidney disease in patients with cancer, including conventional chemotherapeutic regimens and new novel therapies (targeted agents and immunotherapies) or the malignancies themselves that may promote kidney injury; patients with chronic kidney disease who acquire cancer unrelated to renal failure; and kidney transplantation, which has been shown to carry an increased risk of cancer. Contains dedicated chapters for each class of the conventional chemotherapeutic agents, targeted cancer agents, and cancer immunotherapies including the basic science, pathogenic mechanisms of injury, clinical manifestations, and treatment. Includes special chapters devoted to the individual classes of chemotherapies that relate to kidney disease for quick reference. Discusses increasingly complex problems due to more numerous and specialized anti-cancer drugs, as well as increased survival rates for both cancer and renal failure requiring long-term patient care. Covers anti-VEGF (antivascular endothelial growth factor) agents and cancer immunotherapies - treatments that are being recognized for adverse kidney effects. Utilizes a clear, logical format based on the ASN Core Curriculum for Onco-Nephrology, making this reference an excellent tool for board review, as well as a practical resource in daily practice. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The following is a list of Sladen Library databases that will be helpful in locating articles and information. If you would like search help or research assistance from a Sladen librarian, please contact the library or fill out the Literature Search Request form.
UpToDate provides evidence-based summaries on a variety of clinical topics, drug information powered by LexiComp, and a collection of medical calculators.
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that delivers access to authoritative medical and surgical content from Elsevier. ClinicalKey provides over 500 full text journals, over 1000 reference books, Procedures Consult videos, and more.
Ask a Sladen Librarian using our chat service available Monday-Friday 8:30am - 4:00pm.
Henry Ford Health Scholarly Commons is the library’s institutional repository, a way to provide a permanent, comprehensive record of Henry Ford’s research and scholarly activity. Scholarly Commons is web-based and free to use.
Journal articles, conference abstracts, and books by members of Henry Ford Health Division of Nephrology can be accessed here. Visit scholarlycommons.henryford.com to browse publications by department.
