This guide is provided to assist you in finding information on Food and Nutrition. Click on the tabs along the top of the guide to see more.
If you need assistance, contact the Sladen Information Desk.
Sladen databases and electronic resources are available for Henry Ford Health team members and affiliated students.
• If you are using a computer at a Henry Ford Health facility or on the Henry Ford Health network, you will not need an ID and password to access online resources.
• For access from home or off-network, you will be prompted to login to remote access.
• Most users can login to the library remotely using their Henry Ford Health Corp ID and password (it's the same as your Henry Ford Health Outlook ID and password). Contact the Sladen Library if you do not have a Henry Ford Health Corp ID and password.
Please visit our web page Sladen Remote Access for further information.
Are you looking for health information? Ask The Medical Librarian! A professional librarian will research your topic and email you a personalized information packet of materials written for patients. (Mail through US postal service is not available at this time.)
You can request consumer health services by using the Ask The Medical Librarian Request Form.
**Please note that Sladen librarians are unable to diagnose patients. Please contact your physician for health-related concerns.
Lutz's Nutrition and Diet Therapy by
Emphasis on clinical applications. Nutrient recommendations and food label data, including updated DRIs. Cautions for unregulated supplements and descriptions of interactions of food, drug, and over-the-counter nutrients. Life cycle approach that includes screening tools and nutritional interventions for infants, children, adolescents, and mature adults, as well as pregnant and lactating women. Updated recommendations and food plans for weight control, clients with diabetes, HIV/AIDS, dysphasia, preventing heart disease, and other health concerns. Useful assessment tools and tables throughout, including Food Handling Guidelines, Labeling Regulations, Research Summaries, and Wellness Tips Coverage of nutria-genomics and genomics. "Teamwork" exercises focusing on nutritional documentation from different care providers, including dietitians, physical therapists, and speech therapists. "Dollars and Sense" feature highlighting which food costs or economic factors influence nutritional care.
Modern nutrition in health and disease, 11th ed. by The following is a list of Sladen Library databases that will be helpful in locating articles and information. If you would like search help or research assistance from a Sladen librarian, please contact the library or fill out the Literature Search Request form.
UpToDate provides evidence-based summaries on a variety of clinical topics, drug information powered by LexiComp, and a collection of medical calculators.
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that delivers access to authoritative medical and surgical content from Elsevier. ClinicalKey provides over 500 full text journals, over 1000 reference books, Procedures Consult videos, and more.
Ask a Sladen Librarian using our chat service available Monday-Friday 8:30am - 4:00pm.
HFHS Scholarly Commons is the library’s institutional repository, a way to provide a permanent, comprehensive record of Henry Ford’s research and scholarly activity. Scholarly Commons is web-based and free to use.
Journal articles and conference abstracts on dietetics by members of Henry Ford Health System can be accessed here. Visit scholarlycommons.henryford.com to browse publications by department.
