A collection of Sladen Library resources on the subject of Heart & Vascular.
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2013
This guide is provided to assist in locating library resources and other information on heart and vascular topics. If you would like to speak to a librarian, please contact the Sladen Information Desk.
Use the tabs along the top of the page to navigate to different pages within the guide.
Need help locating information? Ask a medical librarian! A Sladen librarian will work with you to research your topic and find the right information in a timely manner.
A librarian is available Monday-Friday 8:30am-4:30pm on K-17 in Henry Ford Hospital. You may also reach us by phone 313-916-2550, or email email@example.com. Literature search requests can also be submitted via the Literature Search Request form.
The following is a list of Sladen Library databases that will be helpful in locating articles and information on heart and vascular topics. If you would like search help or research assistance from a Sladen librarian, please contact the library or fill out the Literature Search Request form.
Provided by the National Library of Medicine, the PubMed database searches over 21 million biomedical citations from the MEDLINE database and select life science journals.
- Ovid MEDLINE
Ovid MEDLINE provides an alternative interface for searching the MEDLINE database.
- CardioSource Plus
CardioSource Plus provides full access to the American College of Cardiology's self-assessment programs, teaching programs, and practice support tools. It also includes access to ACC Meetings on Demand, the JACC, Heart Songs, and ACCIS. Henry Ford Health System provides institutional access to this resource, however, in addition users need to register individually. CardioSource is also available as a mobile app.
- Web of Science
This database provides access to the Science Citation Index Expanded which indexes over 6,650 scientific journals including meeting abstracts. Official journal impact factors from the Journal Citation Reports are also accessible from this resource.
- Access Medicine
AccessMedicine is an online resource that provides access to more than 60 medical textbooks, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and diagnostic tools.
- Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library provides access to high quality, evidence-based medical literature. The database searches Cochrane systematic reviews, clinical trials, and other resources.
A premier point-of-care, evidence-based clinical reference tool which regularly scans more than 500 medical journals and is updated daily.
A suite of online resources that includes books, journals, patient education handouts, drug information and the point-of-care resource, FirstConsult.
UpToDate is a comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource and is designed to provide concise, practical answers quickly at the point of care. Access to UpToDate is only available from Henry Ford facilities.
- Listing of all Sladen Databases
Sladen databases and electronic resources are available for HFHS employees and students. If you are using a computer at a HFHS facility you will not need an ID/password.
For offsite access at home or another location, you will need to sign in. Please visit our web page Sladen Remote Access for further information. If you are having trouble connecting to the Sladen Library resources, please visit our Troubleshooting Instructions.
Access Sladen LibGuides on various topics including Mobile Devices, Education & Training, Tools for Authors, Document Services, Sladen New Materials, and much more!
Monday - Thursday
8:00am - 7:30pm
8:00am - 5:00pm
Closed Weekends and Holidays.