Looking for a book? Search the library catalog to check availability.
Books are loaned out for 3 weeks and may be renewed twice if there is not a hold on the title.
Sladen databases and electronic resources are available for Henry Ford Health team members and affiliated students.
• If you are using a computer at a Henry Ford Health facility or on the Henry Ford Health network, you will not need an ID and password to access online resources.
• For access from home or off-network, you will be prompted to login to remote access.
• Most users can login to the library remotely using their Henry Ford Health Corp ID and password (it's the same as your Henry Ford Health Outlook ID and password). Contact the Sladen Library if you do not have a Henry Ford Health Corp ID and password.
Please visit our web page Sladen Remote Access for further information.
If you have a book you would like to recommend for the Sladen Library collection, please fill out the Book Suggestion Form.
Here is a sample of books available in the field of Nephrology. For a full listing, please go to the Sladen Catalog.
Chronic Kidney Disease, Dialysis, and Transplantation by
From basic science to practical clinical tools, Chronic Kidney Disease, Dialysis, and Transplantation, 4th Edition provides you with the up-to-date, authoritative guidance you need to safely and effectively manage patients with chronic renal disease. Covering all relevant clinical management issues, this companion volume to Brenner and Rector's The Kidney presents the knowledge and expertise of renowned researchers and clinicians in the fields of hemodialysis, peritoneal dialysis, critical care nephrology, and transplantation - for an all-in-one, indispensable guide to every aspect of this fast-changing field. Contains expanded content on economics and outcomes of treatment, as well as acute kidney injury. Covers hot topics such as the genetic causes of chronic kidney disease, ethical challenges and palliative care, and home hemodialysis. Discusses the latest advances in hypertensive kidney disease, vitamin D deficiency, diabetes management, transplantation, and more. Provides a clear visual understanding of complex information with high-quality line drawings, photographs, and diagnostic and treatment algorithms. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Comprehensive Clinical Nephrology by
Written and edited by world leaders in nephrology, Comprehensive Clinical Nephrology, 6th Edition, by Drs. John Feehally, Jurgen Floege, Richard J. Johnson, and Marcello Tonelli, provides current information on clinical procedures and conditions as well as the scientific facts and pathophysiology that are foundational to nephrology practice. Ideal for practicing nephrologists, fellows, residents, and internists, it thoroughly covers fluids and electrolytes, hypertension, diabetes, dialysis, and transplantation, and more - all in a single convenient volume. Popular, color-coded algorithms provide easy access to key content: yellow boxes for general information, green boxes for therapeutic intervention, and blue boxes for necessary investigations. A "just right" amount of basic science and practical clinical guidance helps you make efficient and informed decisions. More than 1,500 full-color illustrations highlight key topics and detail pathogenesis for a full range of kidney conditions and clinical management. New quick-reference boxes with links to clinical guidelines in all relevant chapters. New chapters on common issues regarding prescribing in kidney disease, palliative nephrology, endemic nephropathies, pathophysiology of chronic kidney disease, and outcomes of dialysis. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Diagnostic Pathology: Kidney Diseases by
Part of the highly regarded Diagnostic Pathology series, this updated volume is a visually stunning, easy-to-use reference covering all aspects of common and rare renal diseases and their variants. Outstanding images-including gross and microscopic pathology, a wide range of stains, and detailed medical illustrations-make this an invaluable diagnostic aid for every practicing pathologist, resident, or fellow. Written by leading pathologists, this second edition presents an up-to-date, concise presentation of major pathological, clinical, pathophysiological, and genetic information for over 240 diagnoses. High-quality, carefully annotated images highlight critical information, including difficult issues of grading and staging and diagnostic dilemmas not covered in depth in other texts Time-saving reference features include bulleted text, a variety of test data tables, key facts in each chapter, annotated images, and an extensive index Thoroughly updated content throughout with a particular emphasis on practical information that directly assists in making and supporting a diagnosis Over 25 new chapters with information on major advances in nephropathology/nephrology that have occurred since the first edition, especially in the classification of MPGN/complement-related diseases, lupus nephritis, transplant pathology, and newly recognized immunologic and genetic diseases such as ciliopathies, tubulointerstitial nephritis, and glomerulopathies Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Handbook of Nephrology by
Now entirely in four-color for the first time, Handbook of Nephrology, Second Edition is a concise introduction to Nephrology and features vividly-described patient cases that illuminate core concepts and topics, such as patient history, physical assessment, diagnosis, lab findings and more. This edition has been expanded with numerous additional cases, which now reflect the day-to-day activities of a practicing nephrologist. Expanded for the second edition with numerous additional case studies, now interspersed appropriately throughout topical content. Cases re-configured to mimic the teaching process and lead the reader through to diagnosis. Content is written in a straightforward bulleted format for easy reading. Features teaching strategies that the authors use in their rounds, lectures, morning reports and everyday practice. Ideal for residents, fellows, faculty and students, as well as practicing nephrologists. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Handbook of Nutrition and the Kidney by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Revised and updated by experts in both nephrology and clinical nutrition, this seventh edition of Handbook of Nutrition and the Kidney provides practical and clinically relevant information for addressing the nutritional needs of patients with acute and chronic kidney disease. Concise yet in-depth, the book is packed with tables and charts in every chapter, and outlines detailed and daily nutritional requirements, including proteins, vitamins, minerals, lipids, other fatty acids, and more. Features: Useful for physicians, dietitians, nurses, and anyone who works with patients afflicted by chronic kidney disease (CKD), hemodialysis (HD), peritoneal dialysis (PD), and kidney transplants. Each chapter contains tables and figures that visually demonstrate nutritional principles and enable you to find essential information quickly. Presents easy-to-follow sample menus with lists of ingredients and dietary recommendations. Chapters cover the affects of kidney disease on metabolism and hormonal function, nutritional approaches to caring for different patient types, an overview of nutritional biochemistry and digestive physiology in healthy adults, and more. Includes guidelines and requirements for people with hypertension. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time --providing a seamless reading experience online or offline. Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks. Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design. The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click.
Harrison's Nephrology and Acid-Base Disorders, 3e by
Nephrology and Acid-Base Disorders - with all the authority of Harrison's Featuring a superb compilation of chapters related to nephrology and acid-base disorders derived from Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Nineteenth Edition (including content from the acclaimed Harrison's DVD, now available here in print), this concise, full-color clinical companion delivers the latest knowledge in the field backed by the scientific rigor and authority that have defined Harrison's. You will find 23 chapters from 45 renowned editors and contributors in a carry-anywhere presentation that is ideal for the classroom, clinic, ward, or exam/certification preparation. FEATURES * Content reflects the full scope of nephrology * Valuable opening sections provides a systems overview, covering renal development, function, and physiology, and provides an overview of how the kidney responds to injury * Complete coverage of essential topics such as acidosis and alkalosis, fluid and electrolyte disorders, and hypercalcemia * Integration of pathophysiology with clinical management * High-yield board review questions make this text ideal for keeping current and preparing for the boards * Helpful appendix of laboratory values of clinical importance
Nephrology Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Nephrology Secrets, 4th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in nephrology for in-training or practicing professionals. Written and fully updated by global experts and thought leaders in nephrology. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. New chapters on home dialysis, onco-nephrology, and palliative care nephrology. Fully updated throughout, with clear illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams that expedite study and review. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Nephrology Subspecialty Consult by
Concise, portable, and user-friendly, The Washington Manual® Nephrology Subspecialty Consult, Fourth Edition, provides essential information on inpatient and outpatient management of common renal diseases and disorders. This edition offers state-of-the-art content on diagnosis and treatment, including new chapters on transplant management. Ideal for residents, fellows, and practicing physicians who need quick access to current scientific and clinical information in nephrology, the manual is also useful as a first-line resource for internists and other primary care providers.
Renal and Electrolyte Disorders by 
