Sladen Blog

Get Popular Reads at the Sladen Library

by JoAnn Krzeminski on 2017-12-19T09:28:00-05:00 | 0 Comments

Snuggling up with a good book on a cold winter’s night sounds like a great plan for the next 3 (or 4) months. The medical library may not be your first place to think about finding that leisurely read, but don’t count the Sladen Library collection out completely. Recently we have added a number of popular press books to our collection. Most of them do have a “medical” theme, but go down way easier than say, Diagnostic Pathology of Infectious Disease (which I’m sure for the right audience can be great too).

Take a look at some of the popular titles we have available to check-out:

In Shock: My Journey from Death to Recovery and the Redemptive Power of Hope by Rana Awdish

Call Number: W 18 AW966 2017 & Healthcare Equity Collection

Henry Ford Hospital's own Dr. Awdish! Now a Los Angeles Times Bestseller. A riveting first-hand account of a physician who's suddenly a dying patient and her revelation of the horribly misguided standard of care in the medical world. Dr. Rana Awdish never imagined that an emergency trip to the hospital would result in hemorrhaging nearly all of her blood volume and losing her unborn first child. But after her first visit, Dr. Awdish spent months fighting for her life, enduring consecutive major surgeries and experiencing multiple overlapping organ failures. At each step of the recovery process, Awdish was faced with something even more unexpected: repeated cavalier behavior from her fellow physicians--indifference following human loss, disregard for anguish and suffering, and an exacting emotional distance....Shatteringly personal, and yet wholly universal, she offers a brave road map for anyone navigating illness while presenting physicians with a new paradigm and rationale for embracing the emotional bond between doctor and patient. (Provided by publisher)

I Contain Multitudes by Ed Yong

Call Number: QW 52 Y55 2016

New York Times Bestseller. Joining the ranks of popular science classics like The Botany of Desire and The Selfish Gene, a groundbreaking, wondrously informative, and vastly entertaining examination of the most significant revolution in biology since Darwin--a "microbe's-eye view" of the world that reveals a marvelous, radically reconceived picture of life on Earth. Every animal, whether human, squid, or wasp, is home to millions of bacteria and other microbes. Ed Yong, whose humor is as evident as his erudition, prompts us to look at ourselves and our animal companions in a new light--less as individuals and more as the interconnected, interdependent multitudes we assuredly are. (Provided by publisher)

The Butchering Art by Lindsey Fitzharris

Call Number: WZ 100 F555 2017

The gripping story of how Joseph Lister's antiseptic method changed medicine forever In The Butchering Art, the historian Lindsey Fitzharris reveals the shocking world of nineteenth-century surgery on the eve of profound transformation. She conjures up early operating theaters--no place for the squeamish--and surgeons, working before anesthesia, who were lauded for their speed and brute strength. These medical pioneers knew that the aftermath of surgery was often more dangerous than their patients' afflictions, and they were baffled by the persistent infections that kept mortality rates stubbornly high. Focusing on the tumultuous period from 1850 to 1875, she introduces us to Lister and his contemporaries--some of them brilliant, some outright criminal--and takes us through the grimy medical schools and dreary hospitals where they learned their art, the deadhouses where they studied anatomy, and the graveyards they occasionally ransacked for cadavers. Eerie and illuminating, The Butchering Art celebrates the triumph of a visionary surgeon whose quest to unite science and medicine delivered us into the modern world. (Provided by publisher)

Medicine by DK Publishing Staff

Call Number: WZ 17 P238 2016

A compelling blend of riveting stories, accessible information, and striking illustrations, Medicine shows and tells how medicine has evolved into the lifesaving discipline it is today. (Provided by publisher)

History of Professional Nursing in the United States by Arlene Wynbeek Keeling; et al.

Call Number: WY 11 K26 2018

Featuring nearly 300 photos, oral histories, and personal accounts from varied settings in the United States and other countries, the narrative discusses major medical and scientific advances, prominent leaders and grassroots movements in nursing, and ethical dilemmas that nurses faced with each change in the profession. (Provided by publisher)

Our Healthcare Equity collection to support the Heathcare Equity Book Club, is also packed with some great popular reads!

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie Call Number: Healthcare Equity Collection	The Round House by Louise Erdrich Call Number: Healthcare Equity Collection
Kabul Beauty School Call Number: Healthcare Equity Collection	The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson Call Number: Healthcare Equity Collection